Second meeting of the Inter-Departmental Committee on Development (IDCD)

6th September 2007, Conference Room 1, Irish Aid

Summary Minutes

Welcome speech from Minister of State, Michael Kitt T.D.

The Minister welcomed participants from the fourteen other Government Departments and in his opening remarks highlighted that "an integrated approach to development across all Government Departments" is a stated priority in the new Programme for Government.

(1) The Dutch experience of Policy Coherence for Development (PCD)

The Minister especially welcomed Mr. Otto Genee who is Director of the Policy Coherence Unit in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in the Netherlands. Mr. Genee gave a presentation to the Committee on the Dutch experience of PCD. The Dutch model is widely hailed as best practise.

(2) Minutes of previous meeting

The inaugural meeting minutes were agreed by the Committee and it was agreed that IDCD meeting minutes be put on the Irish Aid website.

(3) Terms of Reference of the Committee

The draft Terms of Reference of the Committee were agreed with one amendment from Political Division, Department of Foreign Affairs.

(4) Synthesis Report

The synthesis report was approved by the Committee with one amendment from the Department of Agriculture. The Report documents responses received from Government Departments in relation to:

- (i) development activities in which they are involved and
- (ii) how coherence in the Government approach to development might be strengthened.

(5) Approach to the work of the Committee

- (i) The Minister proposed to discuss the establishment of one or more subgroups at the third Committee meeting. This was agreed.
- (ii) The Minister proposed to invite personnel from the Institute of International Integration Studies in Trinity College Dublin to present to the Committee at the third meeting. Their ongoing research on coherence was noted. This was agreed.
- (iii) It was agreed to invite members of the NGO community to present to the Committee at the fourth meeting.

(6) Next Meeting

The next meeting of the IDCD will be on Tuesday 27th November 2007 at 12.00pm in the Irish Aid office in Bishop's Square.

List of Attendees

Minister of State Michael Kitt T.D.

1	Ethna Brogan	Dept. Transport
2	Teresa Syndenham, Sean McCann,	Dept. Defence x3
	Margaret O'Leary	
3	Barbara Jones (on behalf of DG Dan	DFA- EU Division
-	Mulhall)	
4	Tom O'Mahony,	Dept. Environment
5	John Callinan,	Dept. Taoiseach
6	Peter O'Neill,	Dept. Communications
7	Philip Melville,	Dept. Social Welfare
8	Bob Bradshaw	Dept. Finance
9	Anne Murray	Dept. Education
10	Anne-Marie Callan	HQ-DCD Irish Aid
11	Ger Considine	HQ-DCD Irish Aid
12	Kevin Smyth,	Dept. Agriculture
13	Brendan Ingoldsby	Dept Health
14	Brian Millane	Community, Rural &
		Gaeltacht Affairs
15	Deirdre O'Reilly	Justice
16	Seamus O'Morain	Enterprise, Trade &
		Employment
17	Francis Rochford	Arts, Sport & Tourism
18	Ciaran O'Cuinn	DFA
19	Vincent O'Neill	Irish Aid
20	Mr. Otto Genee	PCD Unit, Netherlands
21	Mary Barrett	Irish Aid
22	Austin Gormley	Irish Aid
23	Brendan Rogers	Irish Aid
24	Rory Montgomery	DFA-Political Division
25	Kathryn Leslie	Irish Aid
26		
27		
28		

Kathryn Leslie IDCD Secretariat 7th September 2007